Aware.

It’s funny how change makes us more aware of our dependence on God. Really, we’re all co-dependent beings. We were created to be fully dependent on God. But we tend to get into the swing of things, don’t we? We tend to find our groove and make it on our own for quite some time – some people their whole lives – or until we get thrown a curve ball. The curve ball can be any sort of change that throws us off our groove… anything that makes us go “uh, ok not sure what to do here” or “WHERE DID THAT COME FROME?!”. For me its often the latter. Please forgive me and try not to judge me too harshly for what I’m about to say… One of my favorite animated movies is The Emperors New Groove. Don’t act like you don’t know the story. Basically its this really selfish emperor who is set on building his kingdom wherever he wants, no matter the cost to others. Needless to say, his groove get thrown off. Things don’t exactly go the way he planned. He becomes very aware of who he is, who he was and who he should be. In the end, his expectations for a life of happiness have far been exceeded but it took a curve ball. It took his groove being thrown off to make him aware of the fullness of life.

Folks, my groove has been thrown off.

I’m incredibly aware of who I am, who I was and who God has called me to be.

I’m incredibly aware of my dependence on and need for my Savior.

I’m incredibly aware of His unconditional love for me.

Life in London is not at all what I expected. I didn’t expect to constantly be busy. I didn’t expect sharing the good news to be as difficult as it has proved to be. I didn’t expect to miss home this much. But I also didn’t expect to LOVE living with people from other nations. I didn’t expect to be completely overwhelmed at my team’s generosity in showering me with love on my birthday. I didn’t expect my relationship with the Lord to grow as quickly as it has grown in the past 5 weeks. Honestly, I didn’t expect God to be as faithful as He has proved Himself to be.

I am so aware of His faithfulness in exceeding my every expectation.

I am so aware of the fullness of life if I just choose to rest in His presence.

I am so aware that this is not about me. It never has been. It never will be. It’s not about me. It’s about HIM.

He threw off my groove and threw me way outside of my comfort zone.  And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

One thought on “Aware.

  1. I love your analogy Louisa and I just happened to buy that book in Spanish a few weeks ago. It’s one of my favorites. Praying for you and am happy happy to hear how God is working in your life there. Miss you sweet friend.

Leave a Reply

