Heartache.

I’m a visual processor. When I need to process through events in my life I have to be able to see them for all that they are. So typically I try to escape in nature. The beach is my favorite spot in the whole world. Any beach. Doesn’t matter. It’s where I see God the most. Being out in creation also allows me to see HIM for all that He is.

In my life I’ve experienced very minimal heartache, comparatively. However, there have been those times when I’ve been convinced that my heart cannot break into any more pieces without shattering completely. I know that’s dramatic, but the heart is a tricky thing. At this point in my life I am processing through a heartache that I can’t quite explain. I know that leaving London is exactly what God wants… but that doesn’t make it easy. As many of you know, London doesn’t really have nature to escape to. So today the Lord brought nature to me so that I could process leaving London: snow and lots of it! As I stood on the London Bridge snow literally poured over me as the tears streamed down my face. My heart completely aches over having to leave London. I had a vision for this place and a vision for the future and now it’s all coming to an end. Ah, there I go being dramatic again. Anyway, I realized something significant today as I stared at beautiful London Town – the most life alerting events in my entire life have all come to be as a result of heartache.

If God hadn’t allowed my heart to be broken I would not be where I am today. He has brought SO MUCH GOOD out of a hurting heart – why should I expect any less this time around? The key is allowing Him to also be the one to mend my broken heart – just as He’s promised He will in scripture.

Allowing the maker of heaven and earth to break your heart can only result in one thing: a divine reconstruction.

Embrace heartache. Experience deliverance.

“The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit. Many are the afflictions of the righteous, but the Lord delivers him out of them all.”
Psalm 34:18-19

One thought on “Heartache.

  1. Friend, sometime God takes you to a place for the sole purpose of doing something in you. I’ve been in a situation where I was set that God was going to do something through me there, and when it fell apart, the heartache was so great. I cannot describe my disappointment. But later, I realized that, in that place, God did something in me that I could never have done for myself. He taught me to lean not on my own understanding. Later, he has done things through me in places I wouldn’t have picked for myself to be in. I know that work he did in me in that place of heartache was the foundation for spiritual work to be done through me later in my life. I cannot thank Him enough for that heartache now, nor can I express to you how much it hurts to bear it while you walk through it. I pray for comfort and peace for you. We miss you in Austin. Love, Meredith Wermel

Leave a Reply

